Each year, the Johns Hopkins Whiting School of Engineering honors students, faculty, and staff from each engineering department during the annual Convocation Awards Ceremony. These awards highlight hard work and outstanding achievements in research, academics, mentoring, and community outreach.

The 2021 William H. Huggins Excellent in Teaching Award was presented to Jeremy D. Brown, John C. Malone Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering. This award was established in 2001 through the estate of William H. Huggins, professor emeritus in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and it recognizes outstanding faculty at both the undergraduate and graduate levels who demonstrate dedication to students.

Mechanical engineering students recognized at the department’s virtual Convocation celebration include:


American Society of Mechanical Engineers Award
This award recognizes outstanding effort and accomplishment on behalf of the Johns Hopkins University student chapter of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

  • Diana Bershadsky


James F. Bell Award
This award was established by the Department of Mechanical Engineering in honor of James F. Bell (1914–95), who was a professor and professor emeritus in the Department of Mechanical Engineering from 1979 until his death. During his 50-year career at Johns Hopkins, Professor Bell worked continuously as an experimentalist in the field of nonlinear 12 mechanics and dynamic plasticity, authoring more than 80 research papers and two books. His avocation was music: He played in the Hopkins Symphony Orchestra for more than 20 years. The James F. Bell Award recognizes outstanding research and scholarly achievement in mechanical engineering.

  • Ariana Hofelmann, Kaiwen Wang


Creel Family Teaching Assistant Award
Teaching assistants play a key role in education, and this award, established by George C. Creel ’55, recognizes their effort, enthusiasm, and contribution to the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

  • Shantanu Bailoor, Di Cao, Nathaniel Davenport, Mostafa Omar


Robert George Gerstmyer Award
Robert G. Gerstmyer ’43 received his bachelor’s degree in engineering from Johns Hopkins and worked for the FMC Corporation after graduation. The Robert George Gerstmyer Award recognizes outstanding undergraduate achievement in mechanical engineering. It was established in 1993 by Gerstmyer’s sons in memory of their father.

  • Brandon Fremin, Neha Sangana, Marcos Schwartz, Ishpreet Singh, Xiao Yu


Mechanical Engineering Special Achievement Award
This award is given in recognition of outstanding leadership and achievement through engineering clubs and societies.

  • Maxim Daud, Nathan Kaleida, Zachary Souders, Annika Torp


The Charles A. Miller Award
Recognizes outstanding academic achievement by undergraduates in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Charles A. Miller, Jr. ’40 graduated from Johns Hopkins with a degree in geology. He began at Johns Hopkins as a chemical engineering student and worked in engineering all his life. After serving in the Navy, he and two acquaintances launched the Industrial Products Company, which later led to the founding of the Filterite Corporation. Miller’s generous gifts have continued to benefit the Whiting School of Engineering since 1985.

  • Franz O’Meally, Aaditya Rau


William N. Sharpe Jr. Award for Student Involvement
The William N. Sharpe, Jr. Award for Student Involvement recognizes significant leadership or achievement by mechanical engineering students in extracurricular activities. Professor William N. Sharpe, Jr. initiated this award after receiving the Ralph Coats Roe Award of the American Society for Engineering Education in 2007. From 1983 to 1988, Professor Sharpe served as the founding chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering after the formation of the Whiting School of Engineering, and he was chair again from 1991 to 1997.

  • Willa Grinsfelder, Jonah Offman