The Whiting School of Engineering recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff at its 27th annual Convocation Awards ceremony on Monday, May 6, 2019. Congratulations to the mechanical engineering students who received awards:

Amy Chi and Kevin Peters – undergraduate students and winners of the James Bell Award for outstanding research and scholarly achievement in Mechanical Engineering.

Maria Coleman, Yuqing Pan and Zhiyi Ren – undergraduate students and winners of the Robert George Gerstmyer Award, recognizing outstanding undergraduate achievement in Mechanical Engineering.

Solomon Polansky and Garrett Ung – undergraduates and winners of the Charles A. Miller Award, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement by an undergraduate in Mechanical Engineering.

Chang Liu, Benjamin Minnick and Mohit Singhala – winners of the Creel Family Teaching Assistant Award, recognizing the best teaching assistants in Mechanical Engineering.

Caterina Esposito – undergraduate student and winner of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Award for outstanding effort and accomplishment on behalf of the JHU ASME student chapter.

Sarah Gunasekera and Lucy Reider – winners of the William N. Sharpe Award for student involvement, which recognizes significant leadership or achievement in extracurricular activities.

Andrew Colombo, Austin Dillow, Courtney Schmitt, Tyler Spoleti and Lindsey Wiser – undergraduate students and winners of the Mechanical Engineering Special Achievement Award which recognizes outstanding leadership and achievement through engineering clubs and societies.