MechE faculty receive Johns Hopkins Discovery Awards

June 14, 2019

Johns Hopkins University

Johns Hopkins University recently announced 32 multidisciplinary endeavors that have been selected to receive support this year from the JHU Discovery Awards program. Four faculty from the Department of Mechanical Engineering are part of those endeavors: Dennice Gayme, Rajat Mittal, Sung Hoon Kang, and Claire Hur.

Each project team includes members of at least two JHU divisions or other entities who aim to solve a complex problem and expand the horizons of knowledge. Altogether, the winning project teams—chosen from a record 222 proposals—include 120 individuals representing 12 Johns Hopkins entities.

“This year’s proposals attested to the intellectual creativity and collaborative spirit of our university,” says Ronald J. Daniels, president of Johns Hopkins University. “With these awards, faculty will have the freedom to pursue new avenues for discovery with colleagues across our community and to take up the most pressing questions we face as a society.”

Awarded projects that involve mechanical engineering faculty include:

A Data-Driven Approach to Electricity Market Design– Enrique Mallada (Engineering), Marcelo Fernandez (Arts & Sciences) & Dennice Gayme (Engineering)

Decoding the Biomechanics and Physics of Cetacean Biosonar– Rajat Mittal (Engineering), Sung Hoon Kang (Engineering), Cynthia Moss (Arts & Sciences), James West (Engineering) & Jung Hee Seo (Engineering)

Injectable Hydrogel Protected Islet Cells for Long-term Glycemic Control in Diabetes– Luo Gu (Engineering), Sangwon Kim (Medicine) & Claire Hur (Engineering)


Adapted from The Hub. View the full list of award recipients on the Office of Research website.

Back to top