Mechanical Engineering students receive awards at 2018 Whiting School of Engineering Convocation

May 23, 2018

Congratulations to the following students who received awards at the 28th Annual Whiting School of Engineering Convocation Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 7, 2018!


James Bell Award
Max Basescu and Shiyi Ren 

Recognizes outstanding research and scholarly achievement in Mechanical Engineering.


Robert George Gerstmyer Award
Huidong Mona Gao, Matthew Heacock, Duan Li, Andre Ruas, Daniel Tabas, and Solomon Polansky

Recognizes outstanding undergraduate achievement in Mechanical Engineering.


Charles A. Miller Award
Geordan Gutow and Emily Palmer 

Recognizes outstanding academic achievement by an undergraduate in Mechanical Engineering.


Creel Family Teaching Assistant Award
Austin Dillow, Austin Bridges and Gianna Valentino 

Recognizes the best teaching assistants in Mechanical Engineering.


American Society of Mechanical Engineers Award
Damian Cross 

Recognizes outstanding effort and accomplishment on behalf of the JHU ASME student chapter.


William N. Sharpe Award
Kyle Doran and Michael Swiercz 

Recognizes significant leadership or achievement in extracurricular activities.


Mechanical Engineering Special Achievement Award
Matthew Brandes, Gabriel Maymon, Brendan Szuwalski and Stephane Teste

Recognizes outstanding leadership and achievement through engineering clubs and societies.

Back to top