Jennifer Elisseeff and Charles Meneveau elected to the National Academy of Engineering

February 8, 2018
Jennifer Elisseeff and Charles Meneveau

L-R: Jennifer Elisseeff and Charles Meneveau

Two Johns Hopkins University researchers were awarded one of the highest professional distinctions for engineers: election into the National Academy of Engineering.

The academy announced Wednesday that Jennifer H. Elisseeff, a professor of biomedical engineering, and Charles Meneveau, a professor of mechanical engineering, were among 83 new members, along with 16 foreign members.

According to the academy, becoming a member “honors those who have made outstanding contributions to ‘engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature’ and to ‘the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.’ ”

Elisseeff is the Morton Goldberg Professor and directs the Translational Tissue Engineering Center at the Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Wilmer Eye Institute. She has appointments in Chemical and Biological Engineering, Materials Science and Orthopedic Surgery. She was chosen for her work in the development and commercial translation of injectable biomaterials for regenerative therapies.

“I am very honored to be a part of the NAE and grateful for all of my students, fellows and collaborators and the science we do together,” Elisseeff said. “Most important, I look forward to contributing to the service that NAE provides to the nation.”

Meneveau, who is the Louis M. Sardella Professor in Mechanical Engineering, was honored for his contributions to turbulence small-scale dynamics, large-eddy simulations, and wind farm fluid dynamics, and for leadership in the fluid dynamics community.

The new class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the group’s annual meeting in September in Washington, D.C.

Back to top