Nineteen Students Receive 2015 Mechanical Engineering Awards at Convocation

May 19, 2015

Congratulations to the following members of the Mechanical Engineering Department who were recognized at the 26th Annual Whiting School of Engineering Convocation Awards ceremony on May 4th. These students and aides have helped further the mission of not only the Mechanical Engineering Department, but of the Whiting School of Engineering and Johns Hopkins University as well. 

Johns Hopkins American Society of Mechanical Engineers Award – for outstanding effort and accomplishments on behalf of the JHU ASME student chapter: Jonathan Ung ‘15


James F. Bell Award – for outstanding undergraduate research and scholarly achievement:

  • Edward “Ned” Samson ‘15
  • Martha Whiting ‘15
  • Ian Wilkes ‘15

Creel Family Teaching Assistant Award – for dedication, diligence, and outstanding performance as a Teaching Assistant in Mechanical Engineering:

  • Joshua Davis
  • Parastou Eslami
  • Gowtham Garimella
  • Kaushik Sampath
  • Carl Shapiro
  • Florence “Flori” Yellin

Robert G. Gerstmyer Award – for outstanding undergraduate achievement in Mechanical Engineering:

  • Glenn Balbus ‘16
  • Bailey Hannon ‘15
  • Michael Howland ‘16
  • Tucker Kearney ‘15
  • Edward “Ned” Samson ‘15

Mechanical Engineering Special Achievement Award – for outstanding leadership and achievement with the Johns Hopkins BAJA SAE Team: Nate Schambach ‘15

Charles A. Miller Award – for outstanding academic achievement by an undergraduate in Mechanical Engineering:

  • Samuel Frishman ‘15
  • Alexander Spinos ‘15

William N. Sharpe, Jr. Award – for significant leadership or achievement by a mechanical engineering student in extracurricular activities:

  • Yvana Ahdab ‘15
  • Jacob Enterlin ‘15
Back to top