News: Awards and Accomplishments

Hopkins ventilator robot wins top prize at UK Robotics Week Challenge

February 5, 2021

A robotic system created by a team from Johns Hopkins University won the top prize in an international robotics challenge focused on developing solutions for the COVID-19 health crisis and future global pandemics. “Telerobotics for Remote Control of Medical Equipment in Contagious Environments” won the Best Innovation Award at the inaugural Medical Robotics for Contagious […]

Read More

KT Ramesh receives DYMAT’s John Rinehart Award

February 2, 2021

KT Ramesh, Alonzo G. Decker, Jr. Professor of Science and Engineering in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Johns Hopkins, and the director of the Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute, has been selected to receive DYMAT’s John Rinehart Award. Awarded every three years by the European Association for the Promotion of Research into the Dynamic Behavior of Materials […]

Read More

Aaditya Rau wins Provost’s Undergraduate Research Award (PURA)

January 4, 2021

Engineering Mechanics junior Aaditya Rau has been awarded the Provost’s Undergraduate Research Award (PURA)  for his project titled “Atomistic Simulations of Dislocation Mechanisms in Nanotwinned Ni-Mo-W Alloys.” The PURA grant is open to undergraduates from any division working with a mentor in any JHU division, center, or institute. Undergraduates can perform independent research, create a design, […]

Read More

Postdoc Lucas Frérot wins EPFL thesis award

December 15, 2020

Lucas Frérot was awarded the “2020 EPFL PhD Thesis Distinction in Civil and Environmental Engineering” for his recent PhD thesis. EPFL is the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, Switzerland that specializes in natural sciences and engineering. The PhD distinction is awarded to only the best 8% PhD theses of each EPFL Doctoral Program. Frérot received the award […]

Read More

Rajat Mittal named 2021 ASME Freeman Scholar

December 8, 2020

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) has named Rajat Mittal, a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, as the recipient of the 2021 Freeman Scholar Award. Given annually to a person of significant expertise in fluids engineering, Mittal won the award in recognition of his pioneering work on immersed boundary methods, which played […]

Read More

Ryan Hurley and Rui Ni receive 2020 Space@Hopkins Seed Grant

September 14, 2020

Ryan Hurley and Rui Ni, assistant professors in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, have been awarded a 2020 Space@Hopkins Seed Grant. In their proposal, titled  “Electrostatically-Charged Contact Mechanics in Lunar and Martian Dust Environments,” the pair aims to create novel proof-of-concept experiments with the specific goal of relating particle roughness and charging to cohesion and […]

Read More

Back to top